Early years foundation stage

On the 1st September 2012 the revised framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) was implemented. The EYFS sets the standard for child care providers to ensure that children are able to learn and develop successfully whilst ensuring their safety.

The EYFS covers children from birth up until the 31st August after their fifth birthday and aims to give children the knowledge and skills that provide a solid foundation for future progress through school and life.

The key aims of the revised framework are;

  • reduce paperwork and bureaucracy

  • strengthen partnerships between parents and professionals

  • focus on the three prime areas of learning most essential for children's readiness for future learning and healthy development; communication and language; physical development; and personal, social and emotional development

  • simplify assessment at age five

  • provide for early intervention where necessary, through the introduction of a progress check at age two

Read the full PDF to find out more on the impact the changes have had on learning & development requirements and welfare requirements. The guide also holds important information regarding the way in which Ofsted are registering childcare providers on the Early Years Register.

Download the "Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage" guide.

Want to find out more about our Nursery Insurance?

More details